User login

You are here

Fulbrights in Agriculture

1 post / 0 new
Rebecca B
Rebecca B's picture
Last seen: 2 days 8 hours ago
Joined: 02/05/2008 - 12:30pm
Fulbrights in Agriculture

From March to August 1, 2009, U.S. faculty and professionals are invited to apply for Fulbright scholar grants at For monthly updates, write to for a complimentary subscription to The Fulbright Scholar News, an electronic newsletter.

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. government's flagship international exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 286,000 participants from over 155 countries with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. For more information, visit .

Fulbright Scholar Program for US Faculty and Professionals for 2010-2011 is open

The Fulbright Scholar Program offers grants in more than 125 countries around the world. For the Academic Year 2010-2011, Fulbright lists 29 lecturing, research or combined lecturing/research awards in agriculture. Even better, faculty and professionals in agriculture also can apply for one of the 144 "All Discipline" awards open to all fields.

What does Fulbright offer in Agriculture? Here are a few of the awards for 2010-2011:

Southern and Western Europe: Award #0272 - Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in Hungary; Award #0395 Science and Technology in Turkey; multiple awards in France including Award #0249 - Alsace Regional Award.

Western Hemisphere: There are opportunities in a variety of nations across Latin America and Canada, including Award #0538 - Food Technology in Honduras and Award #0562 - Science and Technology in Venezuela.

Sub-Saharan Africa: Agriculture is a priority field for applications to Rwanda at any of several possible host institutions (Awards #0095 and #0096). Also, Award #0084 - Agriculture, Business Administration or Computer Science in Mozambique.

Eastern and Northern Europe: Opportunities exist in Hungary, Poland and Estonia for specialists in agronomy, ecology, biofuels, conservation wildlife management, forestry, grasslands and animal production.

The application deadline is August 1, 2009. U.S. citizenship is required. For other eligibility requirements and detailed award descriptions visit our website at, or send a request for materials to